Asian Games 2022-23

The Asian Games, also known as Asiad, is a multi-sport event held every four years, featuring athletes from across Asia. It is the second-largest multi-sport event after the Olympic Games. This event is organised by the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) which has its HQs in Kuwait City.

The Motto of Asian Games: Ever onward

Symbol of Asian Games: A red sun with 16 rays and a white circle in the middle of the disc

1st edition: 1951 (Delhi)

Recently, the 19th edition of the Asian Games was held in Hangzhou, China from 23 September to 08 October 2023.

Originally these were scheduled to take place from 10 to 25 September 2022 but they were postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The new dates were announced on 19th July 2022. This is the third time that China hosted the Asian Games.

ALSO READ- Asian Games 2022-23 in Hindi…

19th Asian Games 2022-23 (in Global Context)-

Asian Games 2022-23

Venue: Hangzhou Sports Park Stadium

Motto: Heart to Heart, @Future

Emblem: Surging Tides

Mascot: Memories of Jiangnan (Congcong, Lianlian and Chenchen), Jiangnan refers to roughly China’s eastern regions south of the Yangtze River.


Participating Countries: 45 countries

Events: 481 in 40 sports (61 disciplines)

Director of Opening and Closing Ceremony: Sha Xiaolan

Medal Design Name: Shan Shui

Official Theme Song: With you and me

Medal Tally of the Countries-

19th Asian Games 2022-23 (in Indian Context)-

No. of Players in the Indian Contingent: 655 (41 disciplines)

Flag Bearer in Opening Ceremony: Harmanpreet Singh (Hockey) and Lovlina Borgohain (Boxer)

Flag Bearer in Closing Ceremony: PR Sreejesh (Hockey)

Highest Number of Medals Among All Disciplines: Athletics (29)

Total Grabbed Medals: 107 (G-28, S-38, B-41)

Ranked: 4th

Exclusive Media Rights: Sony Sports Network

No. of Medals in Different Disciplines-

Brief Summary of All Gold Medals

  • India grabbed its first gold medal in 10m air rifle shooting after beating Korea with a score of 1893.7. The team consisted of Divyansh Panwar (Rajasthan), Aishwary Tomar (Madhya Pradesh) and Rudrankksh Patil (Maharashtra).
  • 2nd gold was achieved by the women’s team in the Cricket tournament after defeating Sri Lanka with 19 runs.
  • India won its third gold in Equestrian (horse riding) with a total score of 204.882. Names of the team members- Anush Agrawalla (West Bengal), Divyakriti Singh (Rajasthan), Hriday Chheda (Maharashtra), Sudipti Hajela (Madhya Pradesh).
  • The Indian Women’s 25m pistol team consisting of Manu Bhaker (Haryana), Esha Singh (Telangana) and Rhythm Sangwan (Haryana) won the fourth gold medal with a score of 1759.
  • Sift Kaur Samra (Punjab) won 5th gold in the women’s 50m rifle 3-P individual event.
  • The team of Arjun Cheema (Punjab), Sarabjot Singh (Haryana) and Shiva Narwal (Haryana) won 6th gold in the men’s 10m air pistol team event with a score of 1734.
  • The Indian men’s 50m rifle 3-P team consisting of Aishwary Tomar (Madhya Pradesh), Swapnil Kusale (Maharashtra) and Akhil Sheoran (Uttar Pradesh) won the 7th gold with a score of 1769.
  • Palak Gulia (Haryana) won India’s 8th gold in the women’s 10m air pistol individual event with a score of 242.1.
  • 9th gold was won by the mixed Lawn-tennis team consisting of Rohan Bopanna (Karnataka) and Rutuja Bhosale (Maharashtra) after beating Chinese Taipei’s En-shuo and Tsung-hao Huang (2-6, 6-3, 10-4).
  • 10th gold was won by the men’s squash team of Saurav Ghosal (West Bengal), Mahesh Mangaonkar (Maharashtra), Abhay Singh (Uttar Pradesh) and Harinder Pal Sandhu (Chandigarh) after beating Pakistan (2-1).
  • 11th gold was won by the men’s trap shooting team. The team consisted of Kynan Chenai (Telangana), Zoravar Singh (Punjab) and Prithviraj Tondaiman (N/A) with a score of 361.
  • 12th gold was won by Avinash Sable (Maharashtra) in the men’s 3000m steeplechase (Athletics). He completed the race in 8:19.50.
  • 13th gold was won by Tajinder Singh Toor (Punjab) in men’s shotput (Athletics) with a throw of 20.36m.
  • 14th gold was won by Parul Chaudhary (Uttar Pradesh) in women’s 5000m (Athletics) in 15:14.75.
  • 15th gold was won by Annu Rani (Uttar Pradesh) in the women’s Javelin throw (Athletics) with her 62.92m throw.
  • India won its 16th gold in Archery mixed team compound. The team consisted of Jyoti Surekha (Andhra Pradesh) and Ojas Deotale (Maharashtra).
  • 17th gold was won by Neeraj Chopra (Haryana) in the men’s Javelin throw (Athletics) with an 88.88m throw.
  • 18th gold was won by men’s 4*400m relay team (Athletics) with a run of 3:01.58. The team consisted of Amoj Jacob (Delhi), Mohammad Anas (Kerala), Rajesh Ramesh (Tamilnadu) and Muhammad Ajmal (Kerala).
  • 19th gold was won by women’s Archery team. The team consisted of Aditi Swami (Maharashtra), Parneet Kaur (Punjab) and Jyoti Surekha (Andhra Pradesh).
  • 20th gold was won by the Squash mixed doubles team. The team consisted of Harinder Pal Sandhu (born- Chandigarh and residence- Chennai) and Dipika Pallikal (Kerala). They defeated Malaysia’s Aifa Azman and Mohd Syafiq Kamal 2-0 (11-10, 11-10).
  • 21st gold was won by men’s Archery team. The team consisted of Abhishek Verma (Delhi), Prathamesh Jawkar (Maharashtra) and Ojas Deotale (Maharashtra).
  • 22nd gold was won by men’s field hockey team by defeating Japan (5-1).
  • 23rd gold was won by Jyoti Surekha (Andhra Pradesh) in Archery in the women’s individual event.
  • 24th gold was won by Ojas Deotale (Maharashtra) in Archery in the men’s individual event.
  • 25th gold was won by women’s national Kabaddi team by defeating Chinese Taipei with a score of 26-25.
  • 26th gold was won by men’s Badminton team by defeating South Korea’s Choi Solgyu and Kim Wonho with a score of 21-18, 21-16. The team consisted of Chirag Shetty (Maharashtra) and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (Andhra Pradesh).
  • 27th gold was won by men’s cricket team by defeating Afghanistan due to a higher T20 ranking.
  • 28th gold was won by men’s Kabaddi team by defeating Iran (33-29).