Nobel Prize 2023

Since 1901, the Nobel Prizes are awarded yearly in memory of Alfred Nobel, who invented dynamite. Nobel Prizes are awarded in the following six fields-

  • Medicine (Physiology)
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Peace
  • Literature
  • Economics (started in- 1968, first award in- 1969)

ALSO READ- Nobel Prize 2023 in Hindi…

Who awards Nobel Prizes?

There are four awarding institutions for these prizes-

  • Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences: Chemistry, Physics and Economics
  • Swedish Academy: Literature
  • Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute: Medicine (Physiology)
  • Norwegian Nobel Committee: Peace

What is in the Prize?

Nobel Prize winners are presented with a Nobel Prize diploma, a gold medal and a prize money of 11 mn SEK (₹ 8.1 cr.).

Nobel Prize 2023 Winners-

1. Nobel Prize in Medicine (Physiology):

Nobel Prize 2023

Katalin Kariko’ (Hungarian-American) and Drew Weissman (American) were honoured with the Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology for their groundbreaking research on mRNA vaccines. These vaccines have been crucial in battling COVID-19 and could change how we prevent and treat diseases in future.

2. Nobel Prize in Physics:

The Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Pierre Agostini (French), Ferenc Krausz (Hungarian-American) and Anne L’ Huillier (French-Swedish) for their experimental methods that produce attosecond pulses of light. These methods are used to study electron dynamics in matter.

3. Nobel Prize in Chemistry:

Nobel Prize 2023

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was given to Moungi G. Bawendi (American-Tunisian-French), Louis E. Brus (American) and Alexei I. Ekimov (Russian) for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots.

Quantum dots, tiny particles, are making a big impact. They light up computer screens and TVs using QLED tech, enhance LED lamps and help map biological tissue for scientists and doctors. These dots are incredibly useful and might be used in flexible electronics, small sensors, thin solar cells and secure quantum communication in the future. We’re only beginning to discover their potential.

4. Nobel Prize in Peace:

Iranian human rights activist and freedom fighter Narges Mohammadi was honoured with the Nobel Peace Prize 2023. She fought bravely for freedom and independence, facing personal hardships. In Iran, she was arrested 13 times, convicted five times and sentenced to a total of 31 years in prison and 154 lashes.

She is still in prison.

5. Nobel Prize in Literature:

The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded to the Norwegian author Jon Fosse, “for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable.”

6. Nobel Prize in Economics:

The Nobel Prize in Economics 2023 was awarded to Claudia Goldin “for having advanced our understanding of women’s labour market outcome.”